What after ITIL OSA Certification? Ways to make sure that’s all you want?

Drag to rearrange sections
Rich Text Content

ITIL OSA certification is the most popular certification amongst the professionals wanting to expand their knowledge in the ITIL framework. It includes planning, delivery, identifying, supporting, and managing the IT services included in the strategic plan of the business. 


These courses are normally aimed for enhancing the skills and knowledge of the individuals related to the concepts and technology most used in the IT service management sector. This certification is one of the best choices for individuals pursuing a career in the IT service management department. This certification helps you to get an in-depth knowledge regarding the ITIL operations, support, and analysis. 


All the stages of the ITIL life cycle are included in an ITIL certification. However, to achieve an intermediate level certification once has to achieve the foundational level certification first. It is suitable for any IT professional wanting to accumulate a deeper knowledge related to the ITIL framework can take up training courses to get the certifications of the ITIL modules. For instance, you can take up the ITIL Operation, support, and analysis certification to acquire the knowledge regarding the functionalities included in it. For instance, problem management, incident management, technical support, operations, and so on. 


The ITIL separates the courses into two parts, such as Lifecycle and Capability. The lifecycle courses hold the utmost importance for the individuals working in the Information Technology Service Management field. It helps them in executing the best practices in everyday life of the individuals. At the same time, the capability courses are best suitable for the individuals in completing their daily process activities. More details of these courses are given below:


The Lifecycle Stream


This stream concentrates on executing the entire stages of the Service lifecycle effectively. It also puts an emphasis on the roles, phases, processes, responsibilities, and execution. The individuals in charge of the IT service management executions are best suitable for this course. The job roles best suitable for this course are as follows:

  • CTOs, Manager
  • CIOs, Supervisory Staff
  • Team Leaders, Designers
  • Architects, Planners
  • IT Consultants
  • IT Security Managers
  • IT Audit Managers
  • ITSM trainers


Also, it is mainly directed at the individuals that are included in the management, integration, and coordination of operational activities that occur inside the service lifecycle. 


In case you want to become an ITIL professional or want to expand your career in this field, then you can opt for the lifecycle certifications. These certifications will enable you to boost up your career opportunities and offer you a better income along with a bright future. Given below are the certification courses that you can choose under the lifecycle stream. 


  • ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle: Service Strategy
  • ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle: Service Design
  • ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle: Service Transition
  • ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle: Service Operations
  • ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle: Continual Service Implementation


The Capabilities Stream 


This stream normally includes four different types of certifications. For example:

  • Service Offerings and Agreements 
  • Planning, Protection & Optimization 
  • Operational, Support, and Analysis 
  • Release, Control & Validation 


The main goal of this stream is to increase the efficiency and effectiveness of the existing processes/principles and their implementation. These courses include inputs, concepts, output, metrics, activities, and so on.


These modules are best suitable for the individuals that are responsible for executing the day process activities effectively. The job roles best suitable for the capability stream are as follows: 


  • Business Process Owners
  • Business Managers
  • Operational Staff in Service


It also includes other roles related to:


  • Portfolio Management, Service
  • Catalog Management
  • Service Level Management
  • Demand Management, Financial Management
  • Supplier Management
  • Business Relationship Management. 


If you are entirely involved in the above-mentioned roles or positions, then this certification is best suitable for you. There are numerous certifications that you can acquire from this course. If you have achieved the ITIL Operations, Support, and Analysis certification already you can choose from the other certifications given below:


  • ITIL Intermediate Capabilities: Service Offerings and Agreements
  • ITIL Intermediate Capabilities: Planning, Protection and Optimization
  • ITIL Intermediate Capabilities: Release, Control, and Validation


ITIL Practitioner

Apart from those streams, you can take up the ITIL practitioner certification course to get the required skills and knowledge to clear the practitioner exam. 


ITIL Expert 

You can then take up the ITIL expert certification. It is the uppermost level of certification that you achieve after collecting a total of 17 credits from the previous certification exams.


Final Words


You can choose from a variety of certifications after achieving the ITIL OSA certification. However, you can obtain any certificate without achieving the ITIL foundation certificate. The foundation certificate will enable you to get a deeper knowledge and understanding of the concepts, principles, and techniques related to ITIL. If you want to expand your career further, you must select the certification that is the best suitable for your line of work. It also helps in providing better career opportunities and a higher salary. 

Drag to rearrange sections
Rich Text Content

Page Comments